Browser Cookies
This site uses cookies necessary to properly function. By closing this popup, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies. View our policies.

Board of Directors


Our Board is comprised of enthusiastic parents of young skaters (some of us skate, albeit a bit), who understand that creating a nurturing atmosphere is key to skater progress and enjoyment. We are dedicated to our children, the beautiful sport of figure skating and healthy lifestyles. We are also a very diverse group of people with different ethnic backgrounds who respect all cultures and strive to create an accepting skating environment for skaters of all ages.


Burton Powley, President

Richard Harms, Vice President

Derek Etnyre, Secretary

Derek Etnyre, Treasurer

Burton Powley, Membership & Skating Director

Dylan Perkins, Marketing Director

Brett DeBruyn, At Large Board Member #2

(Open), Test and Sanction Director

(Open), SafeSport Director

(Open), At Large Board Member #1

SafeSport Committee:

Burton Powley
Brett DeBruyn
Dylan Perkins

Conflict Resolution Process:

If you experience a difficulty with another member of the club where you feel they have violated a club, PSA or USFSA policy, we ask that you start with CIFSC’s Conflict Resolution Process. The complaint must be filed within 15 days of the incident, infraction or discovery of the alleged violation. Once you have gathered all the requested information, it should be submitted to the club’s President, or if the issue is with the President, another club officer (such as the Vice President).

Conflict Resolution Process (PDF)


Phone: (515) 371-8666
Email: President CIFSC

We Practice at Buccaneer Arena!

7201 Hickman Road, Urbandale, IA


Wells Fargo Arena

730 3rd St., Des Moines, IA 50309

Member club of US Figure Skating